Skip to content

Are you spoiling your veggies, rotten???

June 25, 2012

Once, twice, four times a month – sooner or later, you will find and throw away spoiled produce,  a lot of it.

According to a study done ten years ago by researchers at the University of Arizona, food loss in homes of subjects amounted to an annual loss of 470 pounds of food per year; that’s an average of more than half a pound a day.

Timothy Jones, PhD, contemporary archaeologist at the University of Arizona, calculates annual food loss nationally at $43 billion!

WHAT A WASTE!

I hope you’re thinking about your own frig and pantry as you read these statistics. I know I am. And beyond that, I’m wondering: How can I make sure I minimize the loss of fruits and vegggies I bring home?

Go to ABC’s of Storing Fresh Produce to get a handle on your fruit and veggies use and BUDGET!

2 Comments
  1. Elsa permalink

    Awhile ago I started dehydrating the aging veggies or fruit or stray pieces of fruit. I will dehydrate greens, berries, bananas(though they can flavor other things being dried at the same time), tomatoes and even leftover cooked veggies. I just make sure that I don’t dry things with veggies that have strong smells like broccoli, cabbage, onions and such. I will take the greens and break them up into a powder that I can add to baked goods, meatloaf, soups and even smoothies. It adds extra vitamins without changing the texture or flavor(unless you use a strong green like mustard or put more than a 1/2 cup of dried greens into something). I like powdering tomatoes, peppers, zucchini and greens together and using as part of the base of soup, stew or spaghetti sauce. If you keep a jar of mixed veggies and mixed fruit you can add a lot of nutrition to many foods. We love the minced or diced mixed fruits in our winter hot cereal.

  2. I am just beginning to learn about culturing (fermenting) veggies and even fruits! It is the way our ancestors kept their produce good through the winter. Come to find out, there were health benefits to this process! When you culture your food, 30 to 50 different strains of probiotics are formed, compared to the 2-5 in commercial yogurt. It’s an easy process and the food will store, even opened in the fridge, for 4-9 months. You can culture everything from blackberries (which makes them tangy), to salsa. Who knew! Check out this blog for more info: http://culturedfoodlife.com/cultured-vegetables/

Leave a Reply

